Meet the Governors

Federated Governing Body of St Matthew's C.E. Primary School and Cowley St Laurence C.E. Primary School

The Governing Body is made up of 18 people, drawn from all walks of life, who are dedicated to ensuring the quality of education offered by our school  improves constantly.  The Federated Governing Body are responsible for not only St Matthew’s C. E. Primary School, but also Cowley St Laurence C.E. Primary School.  They meet regularly to look at a very wide range of issues including the achievement of the children, the quality of the teaching, Leadership and Management, Behaviour and Safety and the Spiritual Development of our pupils

The Governors work in close partnership with the Head of School and other members of the Senior Leadership Team to set the strategic direction of the school.  The role of the Governors is to support the school in decision making and also to question and challenge the school, all in the interests of achieving the best outcome for the children.

The governors of St Matthew's are each assigned to a year group in the school, and act as a 'Link Governor' for this year group. This means that they will make visits to the classes in their assigned year group, and get to know the children, parents and teachers within that year group. This further enables our governors to support the school in achieving our school improvement targets. 

The Governors are accountable to the parents and wider community for the direction of the school.  If you would like to contact us please get in touch with the school office. Additionally, if you would like to see the minutes of any governing body meeting, please make your request at the school office. 

Members of the Governing Body:

Councillor Janet Duncan Chair of Governors; Member of Finance & Resources Committee
Catherine Allen Vice Chair of Governors; Member of Finance & Resources Committee
Chris Cole Executive Headteacher; Board of Directors
Lisa Barr Head of School (St Matthew's); By Office
David Davies  Head of School (Cowley St Laurence); By Office
Councillor Shehryar Ahmad-Wallana FGB 
Rev. Richard Young FGB
Linda Ryan FGB; Safeguarding Governor
Helen Pye-Beraet FGB
Ann Clarridge FGB 
Laura Simpson - Parent Governor Elected by parents
Emma Galko - Parent Governor Elected by parents
James Jiang - Parent Governor Elected by parents
Shilpi Khatun - Parent Governor Elected by parents
Miriam Mohammadi - Staff Governor  Elected by staff

Resigned in last 12 months:

Elliott Small, Staff Governor; Daniella Dean, Chair of Governors; Sarah Flick-Smith, FGB; Colette Richardson, By Office; Verity Williams, FGB; Johann Coates, Staff Governor; Cllr Ian Edwards, FGB

Year Group

Link Governor


Emma Galko & Shehrya Ahmad-Wallana


Linda Ryan & Ann Clarridge


Laura Simpson


Richard Young




Janet Duncan


Catherine Allen

In addition:

Mrs Catherine Mosdell is the Clerk to the Governing Body